Four BHU Scholars Selected For Prestigious Prime Minister’s Research Fellowship

BHU Scholar

VARANASI, 13.03.2023: Four research scholars from Banaras Hindu University have secured the prestigious Prime Minister’s Research Fellowship for the January 2023 cycle. The selected scholars are Taj Kumar from Department of Physics, and Praveen Kumar Kannojiya, Rajeev Kumar Pandey and Vipin Kumar from Department of Geology, Institute of Science. Launched in the General Budget 2018-2019, the scheme has been designed for improving the quality of research in the top higher educational institutions offering science and/or technology degrees in the country. The institutes which can offer PMRF include all the IITs, all the IISERs, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru and some of the top Central Universities.

Dr. Mousumi Mutsuddi, Coordinator for Prime Minister’s Research Fellowship, Banaras Hindu University, expressed hope that the number of selections from BHU will see a rise in the next cycle of nomination.

The candidates for PMRF are selected through a very rigorous selection process and their performance is reviewed suitably through a national convention. The PMRF fellows receive an attractive fellowship of Rs.70,000/month for the first two years, followed by Rs.75,000 in the third and then Rs.80,000 in fourth and fifth year. The researchers also receive a research contingency grant of Rs.2 lakhs per annum.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here